Un-official Epic 40k FAQ


by
Jervis Johnson


All answeres by Jervis Johnson unless otherwise noted.




THE SEQUENCE OF PLAY


Strategy Rating


Q:May an army's strategy rating change in mid-game, or is it fixed for the duration at the start of the game? For example, a marine force would have a strategy rating of 5, but this decreases to 4 if they inclued any Guard units or Titans in their army. Would the rating increase to 5 again if all Guard units and Titans were destroyed in the midst of a game?

a) The strategy rating is fixed for the duration of the game, regardless of casualties.
b) The strategy rating may change if casualties reduce a "mixed" force to a "pure" force. (Change the rating at the beginning of the next turn, or the beginning of the next phase?)

A: This is another question I can't honestly remember coming up during playtesting. This makes me think that if it did ever occur (and I think it must have), then we imply didn't notice and kept on playing with the same strategy rating we'd been using since the start of the battle. However, players that prefer to come up with their own house rules for such situations should feel free to do so, as I can see no good reason why the strategy rating should *not* change from turn to turn depending on the composition of the army.


MOVEMENT PHASE


Q: If a unit of infantry dismounts from its transport in the assault phase then it loses 5 cm. from its move when it charges into combat. Players are usure, however, if this 5 cm. is subtracted from the unit's move before or after it is doubled if such doubling will allow the infantry to get into Close Combat. Which case is correct?

a) The infantry may charge up to (10-5)*2=10 cm if this will place the infantry into base-to-base contact.
b) The infantry may charge up to 10*2-5=15 cm if this will place the infantry into base-to-base contact.

A: b


SNAP FIRE


Q: Page 15 of the rule book (SNAP-FIRE)
Second Paragraph:

"The unit can move no further - the sudden burst of enemy fire cause it to halt. In addition the attacker rolls a D6 to see whether they get a hit. Note, you always roll 1D6, no matter what the Firepower of the attacker. If the D6 roll equals or beats the moving unit's Armour value it takes a hit in addition to being halted. The effect of hits is explained in the Shooting Phase."

When a unit with an anti-tank weapon elects to snap-fire, does it:

a) Roll to beat the targets armour value
b) Roll to score a hit on a 4+.

A: a) is the correct answer.


SPECIAL MOVES


Q: When the rules call for a value to be halved, eg. the firepower of units with assault orders during the shooting phase, do you:

a) Round up
b) Round down?

A: Up to you, but be consistent!

[Editor's Note: I would suggest following the standard mathematical convention of rounding 0.5 and higher up, and rounding 0.49 and lower down, in all cases when fractions come into play.]

Q: A detachment on Assault orders shoots with only 1/2 of its firepower in the firing phase. Should it's firepower be halved before or after you subtract for blast markers? (Eg.: A detachement with 12 Firepower has two blast markers. On assault orders, would it shoot with 5 or 4 firepower?)

A: After (that's 5 firepower in your example)


FIRING PHASE


Q: The EPIC 40K rules, on p. 16 of the Rules Book, now allow players to pass during the firing phase if they wish to wait for a better opportunity to shoot. [A change from the old rules that I like very much! -Ed.] What happens if both players want to pass in the shooting phase?

a) The phase ends.
b) The player who initially passed must fire a detatchment. Play then continues.
c) The player who initially passed must fire a detatchment or declare that a detatchment will not fire this turn. Play then continues.
d) Discuss it with your opponent. If you have reached a point where neither will fire unless the other fires first, then the firing phase ends.

A: a

Q: A detachment on Assault orders shoots with only 1/2 of its firepower in the firing phase. Should it's firepower be halved before or after you subtract for blast markers? (Eg.: A detachement with 12 Firepower has two blast markers. On assault orders, would it shoot with 5 or 4 firepower?)

A: After (that's 5 firepower in your example)


ASSAULT PHASE


Q: When one detatchment engages another in an assault or a firefight, it is quite possible for one of these two detatchments to have a toal assault or firepower value of zero. (Consider a detatchment that has nothing left but rhinos.) For the puposes of determining the die roll modifiers, should the superior side automatically be considered to have 4 or more times the assult/firepower of the side with zero (and thus get +4 to the die roll), or should some minimum value be assigned to the inferior side?

A: It automatically gets a +4 modifier. Theoretically (sp?) this can lead to some strange situations, i.e. one stand of Gretchin getting into a firefight with 25 Rhinos and ending up with a +4 modifier!, but in practice the rule works just fine. Players that have a problem with this should come up with their own house rules, for example assuming that a detachment always has a value of at least 1 for firefights or close assaults, even if all the units involved have a factor of '0'.

Q: During shooting, the rules specifically state thet a unit needs a line of sight to at least part of the target detachment in order to participate. There is no such statement in the rules for lending assistance in an assault or firefight.

a)Does a unit need to have LOS in order to participate in a firefight, or does it only need to be within 15cm of the enemy detatchement?
b)Does a unit need LOS in order to lend support to an assault, or just satisfy the 15cm criteria?

A: NO LOS is required in either case. For firefights and assaults we assume that there is considerable movement going on which is not represented on the tabletop, and that if a unit wants a shot, it will get one!

Q: If an infantry can get into CC but is not allowed to (ie the enemy unit in question is already being attacked by two units) can the infantry unit still double its movement to get into range to help with surporting fire?

A: No


SUPER HEAVY WEAPONS


Q: During the shooting phase, what is the effect of blast markers upon detatchments containing superheavy weapons? Most particularly, detatchments that contain only superheavy weapons?

a)Each superheavy weapon should be treated as having a firepower of one; each blast marker thus causes the loss of one death-ray or anti tank shots in the above detachments.
b)Superheavy weapons are only considered to have a firepower of 1 during firefights. There is no mechanism by which blast markers affect their shooting, thus titans or land raiders may accumulate blast markers while still firing at full effect.

A: a) is correct. Each blast marker stops one super heavy weapon from firing.


Barrage


Q: Can you overlap barrage templates if your currently firing detatchement can place more than 1 (eg. loading up several templates on a particularly juicy target), or are you required to spread out the templates over the target detatchment?

a) You are free to overlap multiple barrage templates, as you see fit, in order to get the most enemy units under your templates.
b) You may not overlap templates until all other units of the target detatchement have been covered.
c) You may not overlap templates under any circumstances.
d) You may only overlap templates under the following conditions: (Please specify.)

A: The answer is 'a', but as the question implies people are still confused by the way barrages work, I'll explain how to use them in a bit more detail. When a detachment fires a barrage, take the barrage template, and place it over some [of] the target detachment. You can place it anywhere you like as long as all of the template is in range of all of the units that are joining in with the barrage (you can leave some units out if you want, but they can't fire a seperate barrage). The number of enemy units from the target detachment that are under the template determine the firepower value of all of the units from the attacking detachment that are firing barrage weapons. Add up their firepower, add in the firepower of any other units from the detachment that are shooting with their 'ordinary firepower', and then carry on with the attack as normal. Hits are allocated normally, and don't have to be used against the units that were under the template. Note that you only use the barrage template once, and that all it does is work out the firepower of the attacking unit, and that it does NOT dictate who is hit by a barrage. I say again:

The template is ONLY used to work out the barraging units firepower!

Q: Barrage is listed under the heading of Super-Heavy Weapon. By the sequence of play listed in the rules, Barrage also has added its FirePower to your total pool of FirePower before you begin calculating how your blast- markers diminish your fire. Should a blast marker prevent the entire amount of FirePower from a barrage unit, or should it merely subtract a point of FirePower from your total pool of FP (including that from the barrage)?

A: Each barrage marker stops one barrage weapon (i.e. it prevents the entire amount of firepower).


Close Combat Weapon


Q: When one War Engine (hereafter referred to as "WE") defeats another WE in close-combat, there is a chance that both will inflict hit(s) upon the other using the Close Combat Results Table. Should a damaged WE have a holo-field, then the rules indicate it is allowed to make a holo-save for each hit thus suffered.

If the winning WE is equipped with a Close Combat Weapon, however, the Rules Book states (p. 32) that the loser automatically suffers Catastrophic Damage. No direct reference is made here to "hits", and it appears that the loser suffers Catastrophic Damage whether or not the winner would actually score any hits using the Close Combat Results table. What is the effect of a Holo-Field upon this "automatic" Catastrophic Damage?

a) None. The loser automatically suffers Catastrophic Damage, regardless of whether any close combat hits are scored.
b) The holo-field grants a 2+ chance to save from the Catastrophic Damage.
c) The WE suffers Catastrophic Damage only if all the hits it suffers from are not saved. (Would WE's without a holofield suffer Catastrophic Damage if they suffer from no hits?)

A: a


Heavy Barrage


Q: Barrage weapons, whilst being super heavy weapons, have a firepower calculated by adding up the targets under a template, and place blast markers based on this firepower on the second column of the blast marker table (under Firepower). Are the Heavy Barrage weapons:

a) Treated in the same way on that table (except for the alternate turn shooting and the doubling of hits to calculate firepower).
b) Treated as super heay weapons on the blast markers table.

A: a)

Q: Barrage is listed under the heading of Super-Heavy Weapon. By the sequence of play listed in the rules, Barrage also has added its FirePower to your total pool of FirePower before you begin calculating how your blast- markers diminish your fire. Should a blast marker prevent the entire amount of FirePower from a barrage unit, or should it merely subtract a point of FirePower from your total pool of FP (including that from the barrage)?

A: Each barrage marker stops one barrage weapon (i.e. it prevents the entire amount of firepower).


Mega Cannon


Q: Question - how many blast markers are placed when a mega cannon is fired? Rules state (p34) "each mega cannon attack places one Blast marker on the target detachment in addition to any other blast markers that would normally be placed."

[Editor's Note: Emphasis mine; because this is the word that bugs us]

Example - a Warlord is armed with four mega cannon. It is shooting at a detachment of twelve ork Boyz. It can fit three stands under a barrage template, can do this four separate times, and can hit a different group of three with each template. The Warlord fires all four mega cannon at the orks. The first two cannon kill one ork each, and the second two kill two orks each. Does the Warlord place:

a) 2 BMs - 1 because there are 4 SHWs firing, plus 1 addtional marker because a mega cannon(s) was fired
b) 5 BMs - 1 because there are 4 SHWs firing, plus 1 addtional marker for each mega cannon that fired
c) 7 BMs - 1 because there are 4 SHWs firing, plus 1 addtional marker for each hit on the orks (with a total of 6 hits)
d) 13 BMs - 1 because there are 4 SHWs firing, plus 1 addtional marker for each attack die rolled (and each megacannon rolled to hit 3 targets for a total of 12 rolls)
e) something else?

A: The correct answer is b)


Pulsar


Q: An Eldar pulsar fires 1d6 AT shots. For the purposes of placing blast markers, does this count as 1 or 1d6 Super Heavy Weapons?

A: It counts as 1 Super Heavy Weapon

Q: An Eldar Pulsar fires as D6 Anti-Tank shots. How many blast markers shut down a Pulsar?

a) A single blast marker will prevent a Pulsar from firing.
b) Roll D6 for the number of shots the Pulsar gets. This is the number of blast markers required to completely shut down the Pulsar.

A: a

Q: What is the FirePower rating of a Pulsar in Close Combat? One, as it is a single Super-Heavy Weapon, or D6?

A: one


Super Lifta Droppa


Q: If an Ork fires his Super Lifta Droppa at an Eldar Titan with an active holofield, and rolls high enough to beat the Titan's speed, does the Titan get a chance to use his holofield save?

A: Yes (re-read the the Eldar Holofield rules int he army book where it actually says this!)


SPECIAL ABILITIES


Infiltrate


Q: Infiltrators are allowed to add 30cm to their first move if they do not start the game on the tabletop. Several commanders have lately taken to using scouts in drop pods, or placing infiltrators into transports which begin the game in reserve. When their reserve units show up, they drop the pods or move the transports (on march or assault) then dump the infiltrators out and give them their initial move and the +30cm bonus (suffering -5cm for dismounting, of course). The letter of the law seems to show this being legal. Should it be?

a) Yes.
b) No. If infiltrators want to infiltrate, they must slog it out on foot.

A: a


Rampage


Q: Page 37 of the rulebook states "Rampage units are so berserk that they may not retreat from combat. This means rampage units are always caught by enemy and destroyed if they lose a close combat."

Does this refer only to those units within fifteen centimeters of the enemy, or all rampage units within a detatchment that loses an assault action?

a) All rampage units within 15cm from the enemy will be destroyed. This destruction is because they are not allowed to retreat and will thus remain within the 15 cm "death zone."
b) All rampage units within a detatchment that loses an assault action are destroyed, regardless of their distance from the enemy.

A: Actually, it's only Rampage units in base contact with an enemy that can't retreat, though I have to [say] that this point could have been made more clearly in the rule. The idea is that you get to roll two 'to hit' dice if you win, but you die if you lose!

Q: Your last answer [Editor's note: see the answer to the immediately above question!] went a long way towards clearing up our understanding of Rampage units. However, your last sentence left us with another question.

Suppose a detatchment including Rampage units loses a close combat with an enemy detatchment. When you are rolling dice to determine casualties from the assault, every unit in base to base contact from both detatchemtns gets to roll to cause casualties. Do the losing units with Rampage:

a) get to roll two dice as normal, then die
b) get to roll one die, like a standard unit, then die
c) just die

A: a)

Q: Are the Rampage rules quoted above also intended to penalize rampage units who lose a firefight?

A: No, it only applies to close combat (like [it] says!)

Q: Thanks to your previous Q&A responses, we've mostly worked out the rules for Rampage units. Rampage units roll twice to score hits when in Close combat, but can't retreat and are captured if they lose. However, if they are in contact with all enemy units within 15 cm then it is possible they may lose the combat and have no one close enough to capture them. Are they still destroyed in such a case?

A: yes


Save


Q: When a transport carrying an infantry unit with the save ability is destroyed, what happens to that transported unit:

a) The infantry unit is destroyed on a roll of 1,2 or 3 as per pge 15 of the rules.
b) The infantry unit is destroyed on a roll of 1, 2 or 3 only if it also fails its saving throw with a second 1, 2 or 3.

A: b)

Skimmers


Q: Have you ever considered/will you ever consider a maximum pop-up height for skimmers?

A: No, but players that want to make their own house rules should feel free to do so (just don't ask us to use them!)

Q: At what point during the turn are skimmer war engines, such as the Eldar Engines of Vaul, eligible to pop-up?

a)At the start of the shooting phase (allowing them to be shot at by vehicles and infantry.
b) At the start of the war engine shooting phase
c) When the owning player decides to shoot with their detachment (effectively preventing all but other war engines yet to shoot from shooting back)
d) At some other time?

A: c)


Transport (X)


Q: If a unit of infantry dismounts from its transport in the assault phase then it loses 5 cm. from its move when it charges into combat. Players are usure, however, if this 5 cm. is subtracted from the unit's move before or after it is doubled if such doubling will allow the infantry to get into Close Combat. Which case is correct?

a) The infantry may charge up to (10-5)*2=10 cm if this will place the infantry into base-to-base contact.
b) The infantry may charge up to 10*2-5=15 cm if this will place the infantry into base-to-base contact.

A: b


FLYERS


Q: If you first place your flyers on the board within range of your own flak units, and then your opponent places his interceptors on the board next to your flyers, may your flak units fire at the interceptors?

a) Yes
b) No. Complete all intercept actions before considering your flyers to be "on the board."

A: The correct answer is b)

Q: The rules state that Flak units may roll 1 die for each of their points of Firepower when firing at fliers, and score a hit if they roll equal to the flyer's armour or more. The Eldar Fire Prism, however, has one anti-tank shot rather than a Fire-Power rating. While it certainly rolls one die when shooting at flyers, players are unsure if it should score a hit if it rolls 4 or above (as Anti-Tank) or if it scores armour value or above (as 1 Super Heavy Weapon = 1 FirePower). Which is the case?

A: The Fire Prism hits on a 4+

Q: When an interceptor squadron is placed on the table next to its target detatchment, must each flyer shoot at the closest enemy unit or may it choose to fire at any unit in the target detatchement? (my opponent always always goes straight for my Harridan [in the center of my flyer detatchment], and unsurprisingly drives it off)

a)Resolve casualties by removing the nearest enemy flyers first, just like in ground combat.
b)Each interceptor may shoot at whichever flyer it likes.

A: The correct answer is b)

Q: When members of a flyer detatchment become damaged, that detatchment has two elements that finish rearming/refueling on differing turns. Which element(s) of this flyer detatchment may fly missions, and when may they fly them?

a)Both elements of the detatchment may fly missions whenever they become rearmed and refueled. The element of the detatchment that does not include an HQ should select one flyer to act as its HQ.
b)Both elements. It is not necesary to choose an interim HQ for element that does not have one.
c)Only the element of the detatchment which includes the HQ may fly missions when rearmed and refueled. When the other element is rearmed/fefuled, it must still wait to join its brethren with the HQ.
d)Only the bigger element of the detatchment may fly independant missions, regardless of which element the HQ is in.
e)Neither element may fly a mission until the other is also rearmed and refueled.

A: A flyer that is damaged can't fly missions on its own (unless it i all that remin of the detachment, of course!). If the rest of the detachment flies a mission while the damaged flyer is being refueled, it simply remains for an extra turn at the refueling stage in order to catch up with them.


SCENARIO SPECIAL RULES


RESERVES


Q: At the beginning of each turn after the first you roll on the reserve chart to determing how many (if any) of your reserve detachments show up. If a reserve detachment is determined to show up, are you permitted to wait and have it enter on a later turn? (This quesiton brought to you by those who use flyers and drop pods)

A: Reserves must enter play on the turn the dice roll is made, you can't wait for a later turn.


ARMY MORALE


Q: If a detachment consists of 3 units, is morale lost when one unit has been destroyed, or two units? The examples in the book show that half strength is calculated by rounding up, but this wasn't true in the old Epic.

a) A 3 unit detachment loses morale when one unit has been destroyed b) A 3 unit detachment loses morale when two units have been destroyed

A: Judging by the examples in the rules, we decided to round odd numbers down for Studio battles, but to be honest I can't really remember, and I'm not sure whether all the different play-testers did it this way (for example, Andy and myself might have decided to round down, while Robin and Paul may have decided to round up in the games they played). In other words, you should feel free to round up or round down as you wish, but try and be consistent during the same game!


CHOOSING AN ARMY


Q: How many "Supreme Commander" detachment may you take?

a) One, except for Trynids who are limited by the over-all size of their army as to the total number
b) As many as you want, except for 'Nids who are limited by the over-all size of their army as to the total number.
c) Some other number.

A: a)

Q: Many units, especially commanders, may be "upgraded" to become units of a different type. Often, this new unit type has many stats that are inferior to those of the original unit. (Eg. Eldar Harlequin units can be "upgraded" to Jetbike units. A Harlequin has an assualt value of 4, whereas a Jetbike has an assault value of only 2.) When making such an upgrade, do you:

a) Take the higher of each stat
b) Use only the stats of the new units (plus the special abilites noted on the force list for the new unit).

A: b)

Q: Under the command structure for Chaos War Engines and Imperial Titans it is possible to buy multiple scout titans, yet no chain of command is specified. Does this mean that

a) War Engines without a chain of command can enter the board at separate locations, essentially as separate detachments.
b) War Engines without a chain of command must enter the board as a single detachment, but may separate and ignore the 30cm unit coherency rule.
c) War Engines should have a chain of command. Choose one unit to be HQ, and proceed as normal.

A: c)

Q: The Battles Book tells us which armies may ally with each other, but give us no guidance as to how we should determine the overall strategy rating of the allied force when they do so. This can get especially complicated when various combinations of Marines/Imperial Guard/Eldar fight together. Are there any simple formulae that can be recomended for determining an allied strategy rating?

A: Use the lowest strategy rating. (Note that 'Imperial Armies' work out their strategy rating using the rules in the battle book, then compare it to other allies to see who has the lowest.)

Q: The Battles Book tells us that Orks may ally with Chaos. However, Orks are allowed to replace their initiative counters in the cup before the Assault Phase, while Chaos is not. What happens when these two armies ally, as it is the joint force that is drawing initiative counters?

a) They do not replace initiative counters
b) They do replace initiative counters
c) They only replace initiative counters if the Orks make up over 50% of the army.
d) Something else.

A: a)


IMPERIAL GUARD


INFANTRY


Q: The rules seem to have been written with the general idea that a detatchment has only one HQ unit at a time, with units lower on the command chain taking over as their superiors are killed. The Imperial Guard infantry, however, seems to have an unusual command structure in that you are required to purchase three command units, and pay the 25 pt. surcharge for each, in order to field a full strength detatchment. Does this purchase grant the Guard infantry three simultaneous command units, and thus perhaps allow them to spread out a little more and take better advantage of cover, or is only one of these units at a time considered to be the detatchement HQ?

a) All three units are simultaneously considered an HQ unit. All Guard units within the detatchment are considered in command so long as they are within 30 cm. of at least one of these units.
b) Only one of these three units at a time is considered the HQ unit for the purposes of judging which detatchment units are within command.

A: Nominate one of the HQs to be the command HQ at the start of the battle. This HQ is used until (or if...) destroyed, then one of the other HQs takes over as the next in the chain of command.

Q:Rough Riders are not mentioned as having the Assault ability in the charts within the Imperial Guard section of the armies book (p. 15), or in the Imperial Guard Summary Chart on p. 30. They are shown in both these places as having only the Cavalry ability. In the detatchment chart on p. 33, hoever, Rough Riders are shown as having both the Assault and Cavalry abilities. Can you confirm that p. 33 is correct, and that Rough Riders should have the assault ability?

A: Page 33 is correct, Rough Riders should have the assault ability.

Q: In the Imperial Guard infantry detatchment sheet (Armies Book, p. 33), Rough Rider units are listed in the Main Force section but not the Support Force section. The notes state: "Rough Riders may only be chosen as main force squads if the detatchment includes at least one Rough Rider Command squad, otherwise they are chosen as support units." If, however, the detatchment does include a Rough Rider Command squad, may Rough Rider squads still be purchased as support units?

a) Yes. You may always choose them as support units.
b) No, they may only be chosen as support units if you do not have the requisite commander.

A: a

Q: As the rules are written, Rough Rider HQs are excluded from being able to take a Captain or, more importantly, a Psyker. Is this correct? It seems strange to exclude from a dedicated close-combat force a unit whose primary purpose is to give +1 to the roll in a close-combat or firefight.

A: Yes, its correct.

Q: On p. 33 of the armies book, the Imperial Guard squad is listed with a cost of +6 pts. to "Include a Commisar (Hero) in one unit." Should be this line be taken to mean that a Commisar may be included within both units for 12 pts, or may *only* one unit include a Commisar?

A: Only one unit may include the Commissar.

Q: List members find it odd that the stats and cost of the Imperial Guard Colonel and the Imperial Guard Commisar-General are identical. The only difference seems to be that the Colonel unit may include a psyker, whereas the Commisar-General stand may not. Should there be any other differences between these two units? The Commisar-General currently seems redundant.

A: You've missed out the most important difference - a Commissar-General just looks much cooler than a boring old IG Colonel, especial as the former gets the chance to ride around in a jet-black Leman Russ! In other words, we've included options in the army lists for aesthetic reasons, rather than just game reasons.


AEDEPTUS ASTARTES


INFANTRY - Space Marines


Q: What was the rationale behind making Terminators marines with a save, as opposed to marines with hero status (particularly as ork nobz now outclass terminators in close combat)?

A: We felt it better reflected their abilities (Terminators are primarily shooters, Ork Nobs primarily assault troops). Also Terminators just aren't as good in close combat as Space Marine Assault squads, while Nobz are amongst the most effective assault troops in the Ork army. As a house rule, allowing players to upgrade Terminators to assault troops would be fine, but converting the miniatures to show the Thunder Hammers etc might be rather fiddly!


VEHICLES - Armoured Might


Q: How many stands of terminators can a land raider or rhino carry? The rules list them as transport (2), therefore 2 units, even of terminators (as there are no special exceptions for them). However, in Warhammer 40k there is only enough room for 5 models of terminators in either.

A: Strictly by the rules, two stands can be carried. As a house rule for those willing to put up with the extra complexity, only allow one stand, as per [Warhammer] 40K.


Space Marine Detatchment


Q: List members are still having trouble figuring out how to buy commanders for their armies. For each of the forces below, please indicate whether any and or all of the options are legal to purchase as the detatchment's original commander.

Lots of people have asked me this question in lots of different ways, but basically I think the issues come down to whether you can purchase any unit as a commander for +25 for the marines, and do the Eldar have to add 25 points to their Farseers if they want to use them as HQ units or is this already figured in?

I can understand the confusion, and it has to be said that the army book could have been clearer on this subject. The problem seem to have come about because late in playtesting we decided to allow any units to be HQs (so that players didn't *have* to field Captains, etc), and althoug the army lists were changed, not all of the examples were updated. This is one of the major problem with writing rules, because at the time of writing you don't have one rulebook, you have a whole bunch of computer files on several different computers. Making sure that every single file gets updated is a complete nightmare, and things like this always seem to slip through (though you should see the number of errors we *do* catch).

But I digress (sp?); on to the specific questions:

Marine Detatchements:

a)Any marine unit at +25 points to the basic cost
b)Captain at 25 points
c)Captain at 25+25=50 points
d)Librarian at 35 points
e)Librarian at 35+25=60 points

A: a) [Editor's Comment: Which includes c and e; my fault]


THE ORKS


Q: Orks seem to be the only army with a chain of command that does not end in "any other unit." Is this a typo, or are Ork detatchments intended to fall out-of-command more easily than other armies? Note that an Ork Warband will be out-of-command if reduced to only Battlewagons, Buggies, and Gretchin [Not that I could ever envision Gretchin or Squigoths taking charge of anything! -Ed.] while a Kult of Speed will be out of command even if it has Ork Boyz left.

a) The Ork Chain(s) of command should end in "any other unit."
b) The Ork Chain(s) of command is correct.
c) The Ork Chain(s) of command is mostly correct, but needs a little tweaking... (please specify)

A: b

Q: The stats for the Mega-Gargant's Kruz Missles says that it has 2x Kruz missles, and that only one may be fired per turn. Should this be taken to mean that each Kruz missles is a one-shot weapon, as is the Vortex Missle?

A: Yes, Kruz missiles are one-shot weapons


THE ELDAR


Eldar Vehicles


Q: The rules state that Flak units may roll 1 die for each of their points of Firepower when firing at fliers, and score a hit if they roll equal to the flyer's armour or more. The Eldar Fire Prism, however, has one anti-tank shot rather than a Fire-Power rating. While it certainly rolls one die when shooting at flyers, players are unsure if it should score a hit if it rolls 4 or above (as Anti-Tank) or if it scores armour value or above (as 1 Super Heavy Weapon = 1 FirePower). Which is the case?

A: The Fire Prism hits on a 4+


Eldar War Host


Q: List members are still having trouble figuring out how to buy commanders for their armies. For each of the forces below, please indicate whether any and or all of the options are legal to purchase as the detatchment's original commander.

Lots of people have asked me this question in lots of different ways, but basically I think the issues come down to whether you can purchase any unit as a commander for +25 for the marines, and do the Eldar have to add 25 points to their Farseers if they want to use them as HQ units or is this already figured in?

I can understand the confusion, and it has to be said that the army book could have been clearer on this subject. The problem seem to have come about because late in playtesting we decided to allow any units to be HQs (so that players didn't *have* to field Captains, etc), and althoug the army lists were changed, not all of the examples were updated. This is one of the major problem with writing rules, because at the time of writing you don't have one rulebook, you have a whole bunch of computer files on several different computers. Making sure that every single file gets updated is a complete nightmare, and things like this always seem to slip through (though you should see the number of errors we *do* catch).

But I digress (sp?); on to the specific questions:

Eldar Detatchments

a)Any unit at +25 points
b)Farseer at 50 points
c)Farseer at 50+25=75 points

A: a) - the Farseer should cost 75 points

Q: Was the Eldar Farseer used as a detatchment HQ designed to cost 75 points, or was this price an unforseen consequence of last minute changes in the structure of the army lists? He seems to cost only 50 points when purchases as a supreme commander.

A: Inititially all Eldar War Hosts were led by a Farseer that cost 50 points (you had no choice, you had to take him). In the end, however, we decided this was a bit silly as there simply aren't that many Farseers around, so we made using a Farseer an option at a cost of 50 points. (We know that nearly all 40K Eldar armies are led by a Farseer - we hope to be able to remedy this at some point in the future...) Then we found that at 50 points all detachments ended up being led by a Farseer anyway, so we added in the +25 point mark-up. On the other hand using a Farseer as a Supreme Commander seemed highly appropriate, so we left him at 50 points in this case.

(Hope that makes sense!)

Q: The rules for Eldar Exarchs are also causing confusion. Can they only be added to basic Aspect Warrior stands, confering the assault skill, or can they be added to a stand of Swooping Hawks? What is the effect of adding an Exarch to a Dark Reaper squad? Is the unit's range 15cm or 45cm, assault value 3 (4 divided by 2, plus 1; or 4 plus 1 divided by 2), firepower 2?

A: The following is likely to be the _revised_ answer we give in WD211:
Add the following to the end of the Assault Special Ability description: "If combined with the heavy weapon ability, change the range to 45cm and add +1 firepower, but halve the unit's assault value before adding +1."

Q: An Eldar pulsar fires 1d6 AT shots. For the purposes of placing blast markers, does this count as 1 or 1d6 Super Heavy Weapons?

A: It counts as 1 Super Heavy Weapon


CHAOS


Chaos Space Marine Detatchment


Q: List members are still having trouble figuring out how to buy commanders for their armies. For each of the forces below, please indicate whether any and or all of the options are legal to purchase as the detatchment's original commander.

Lots of people have asked me this question in lots of different ways, but basically I think the issues come down to whether you can purchase any unit as a commander for +25 for the marines, and do the Eldar have to add 25 points to their Farseers if they want to use them as HQ units or is this already figured in?

I can understand the confusion, and it has to be said that the army book could have been clearer on this subject. The problem seem to have come about because late in playtesting we decided to allow any units to be HQs (so that players didn't *have* to field Captains, etc), and althoug the army lists were changed, not all of the examples were updated. This is one of the major problem with writing rules, because at the time of writing you don't have one rulebook, you have a whole bunch of computer files on several different computers. Making sure that every single file gets updated is a complete nightmare, and things like this always seem to slip through (though you should see the number of errors we *do* catch).

But I digress (sp?); on to the specific questions:

Chaos Marine Detatchments

a) any unit at +25 to basic cost
b) Chaos Lord HQ at 25 points
c) Chaos Lord HQ at 25+25=50 points
d) Sorceror HQ at 35 points
e) Sorceror HQ at 35+25=60 points

A: a) [Editor's Comment: which, again, includes c and e]


Chaos Cultist Detatchment

>

Q: On p. 90 of the armies book, the Chaos cultist detachment is listed as being able to purchase a support weapon battery of 1 to 3 units. What are these weapons? Are they the same as the Imperial support weapons?

A: Wooops! Good question, and one that got past us. They are the same as the Imperial support weapons.


Chaos Engine Detatchment


Q: Nurgle Daemon engines have two different prices listed for them in conflicting places. In one place they are listed as 31 points, and in another as 45 points. Which is correct?

A: The right value is 31 points. We're coming up on the first reprint now and we will be fixing the most tricky problems there.(Source: Andy Chambers)

Q: The Slaanesh Questor titan seems much more useful than the Subjugator, yet it is the Subjugator that costs more. Is it possible that these two scout titans have their costs reversed in the Armies book?

A: No - the Subjugator has a Titan CC weapon


HIVE FLEET KRAKEN


War Engines


Q: There has been some concern about the abilities of Tyranid bio-titans, given that they have no shields or special saving throw. Part of the background information says that the Tyranid titans have regeneration. Is this:

a) Some special, otherwise undocumented feature;
b)A reference to the ability of all war engines to repair damaged systems.

A: The ability of Tyranid Bio-Titans to regenerate is represented by their high armour value and number of wounds.



Last updated 4/25/98



Back